131. The Six Stages of Depression

There are not clearly defined stages of depression put out by psychological or medical groups, but some experts in the field have developed lists to help them work with those who are depressed or bipolar. Tom Wootton, for example, an expert in the field of bipolar disorder, has a list of six stages of bipolar – from crisis to self-mastery – that guide a bipolar person from disorder to in- order. His is a sophisticated program that provides extensive assessments, development of tools, and careful planning to become a master of one’s mental health instead of a victim. I highly recommend his course of study.

In my coaching for those who are depressed, I have also found it helpful to define stages of depression. For me, there are six of them. The concept is that you break the wholeness of depression down into manageable stages that require different strategies for each stage. As the old adage goes, “How do you eat an elephant?” The answer is “one bite at a time.” In the case of depression, how do you go from onset to triumph? The answer is “one stage at a time.”

These are the six stages, which are a linear progression from the worst stage to the best, with relapses a usual part of the process.  I will explain each of them in future blogs.

  1. Onset of Depression
  2. In Treatment
  3. Becoming Stable
  4. Developing Tools
  5. Controlling Depression
  6. Triumphing Over Depression

About Patrick Day

triumphoverdepression.org This blog is my ministry to support those who are depressed, in gratefulness for my having overcome major depression. Read "About Patrick Day" just to the right of "home" on the top of the blog site to find out more particulars about me. I retired from a career in higher education, where I served as Dean of Instruction, and promptly moved into a life of purposelessness and despair for five years, finally coming out on the other side. I am now an author, a business and life coach, a writer of this blog, and a volunteer for various organizations. What I write about in this blog is not hypothetical comments on depression. I have been there, felt the horrible pain, had my life disrupted, and experienced everything that I write about. I pray that I may be a blessing to you.
This entry was posted in Depression and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 131. The Six Stages of Depression

  1. howanxious says:

    I look forward to reading, understanding and implementing the correct procedures in my life.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s